Love it or hate it – the oatmeal raisin cookie is here to stay. And you guessed it, I’m firmly planted in the love it camp! I used agave syrup and chia in this recipe to make the best and most delicious, vegan oatmeal raisin cookies ever! Did I mention they’re gluten-free?
What do you need to make gluten-free and vegan oatmeal raisin cookies?
Firstly, I used Agave Syrup rather than sugar or honey. Agave has slightly more calories than white sugar but keep in mind you need to use less (around half!) to get the same level of sweetness.
Agave syrup comes from the agave plant – a native cactus of Mexico. It’s a light brown liquid, and being plant-based makes it a great vegan substitute for honey!
If you can’t get your hands on agave you can use runny honey in it’s place but I wouldn’t consider it vegan then.
To make these vegan oatmeal raisin cookies I also added chia seeds as a binder rather than eggs. If you want to know more about chia check out my chia egg substitution recipe. In short, chia seeds are super nutritious rockstars when it comes to binding together water. Mixing water and chia makes the small seeds stick together. This has a sort of raw egg white texture which makes it great for replacing eggs in vegan baking!
A cool thing about Chia seeds: because they hold onto so much water, when they move through your body they actually put moisture back into your digestive track. This is just all round great for your digestive health.
You have two choices with the chia seeds. Either grind them down in a food processor before adding the water or just leave them whole. It’s half preference and half what you want to with them.
In this cookie recipe, I keep them whole for simplicity and oatmeal raisin cookies are rough in texture so they blend in really well.
A note for those on a gluten-free diet
Please note that I use rolled oats in the recipe. Many people following gluten-free diets avoid oats as they can easily become contaminated with other cereals that contain gluten! Make sure you check the box of your oats. Many brands have started marking them specifically gluten-free if they can guarantee no contamination.
Looking for more?
The nutritional information shown is an estimate provided by an online nutrition calculator. This is not medical or nutritional advice and intended for information purposes only.